. Many old buildings are protected by law because they are part of a nation’s history. However, some people think they should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people need houses and offices. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

There are two perspectives heating up a debate over whether it is necessary to maintain the ancient buildings. While some claim that pre-existing buildings should be maintained, the opposite makes a statement that it is better to pull them down to meet the citizens’ accommodation demand. While the former is valid to some extent, I regard myself as an advocate of the latter. Without a shadow of a doubt, old buildings play a paramount significant. Given the fact that a great many of old buildings conserved by the law system are a part of nation’s history. For example, Hanoi’s Old Quarter in Vietnam has a unique architecture built in myriads of past years. Not only is it a niche tourist spot in this day and age due to its antique structure but it is also one of the well-known venues for artists to get inspired about the lives of fellow countrymen. Hence, the pre-existing buildings which are a symbol of the nation's identity, should be kept. While the integral of protecting those old structures is widely acknowledged, it is also not necessary for them to be an obstacle for the development of the nation. On the grounds that the shelter requirement is ever-increasing, which these antique buildings with inferior and diminutive design can not fulfill. For instance, Royal City where used to be flocks of small one-storey houses are now replaced to be a huge house complex in Vietnam in order to offer more space for living and working. Therefore, it is better for the government to pull down those out of date buildings and shape more skyscrapers instead. To sum up, ancient buildings have a tremendous historical value; however, they should also be knocked down to make progress in the thriving of the country.