Some people believe that violence on television and in computer games has a damaging effect on the society. Others deny that these factors have any significant influence on people's behaviour. What is your opinion?

Some individuals are of the opinion that violent scenes and actions on television and in computer games exert detrimental influences on the community, while others refuse that it has no adverse effect on how people act. From my standpoint, I am of the opinion that both arguments are justified. On the one hand, the phenomenon of aggressive behaviours on television and games may have negative impacts on audiences, especially the youth. Adolescents, the latter generation are innocent and easily affected by surroundings, such as TV programs and video games because of the lack of knowledge and experience, so they tend to copy actions from what they have seen. To illustrate, people who intend to do harm to someone else as a result of modelling themselves after characters whom they enjoy. Besides, violent games teach people that aggressiveness is normal in everyday life. Dwellers who are constantly exposed to violent computer games would start assuming that is normal, then such people would connect those to reality and maybe confuse reality and the virtual world. Therefore, they cannot distinguish whether these violent actions are considered suitable or not on a daily basis. On the other hand, there are many other factors that may encourage violent behaviours. Firstly, people act on their motives, regardless of what they see on television. Particularly, some people who suffer from violence in their family or were bullied in schools in the past are likely to have bad behaviours. So they tend to utilize violence to solve their problem without caring about others’ emotions and relationships. Secondly, many detrimental occurrences through the mature process, such as education, may lead to how they treat other individuals in the future. In other words, kids who received low-quality education when they are at home and in school, seem not to have enough knowledge of legal and illegal behaviours. So that they might act violently or hurt others without awareness. In conclusion, though violent television programs and video games adversely affect the public, I contend that many aspects also have a harmful influence on people ’s behaviours.