car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam' How true do you think this statement is? what measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

More congestion on the roads after 1990 has caused more busy lanes. Since development is comparatively slower than the production of motors so the lanes got worst. In order to cope with this condition, governments can impose heavy duties on purchasing automobiles and find alternative ways for transportation. In the other regions of the world where there is more purchasing of the private modes of travel than investment in development plans to expand the roadway and build the flyover and under-by-passes, the pavement will be unbearable to manage during rush hours. For the past few years, Karachi city is facing a law and order situation of queues during busy hours. At the start of the 21st century, this city became the economic hub of Pakistan which ultimately resulted in more buying power for locals and migration of the communities from other regions of the country. Since the government has no development plan for the infrastructure, the areas became congested enough to bear the higher number of jalopies. Similarly However, firstly it's the duty of the local government to control the situation by imposing some extra duties and taxes to cut down the buying power of the natives. Higher prices of the commodity will ultimately result in leaving people with no personal commodity. At the same time, they should also introduce some alternate options such as introducing public buses with AC, wifi and other facilities so that people may have the option to choose a better mode of commute. In Japan after industrialization, extra duties and taxes have been imposed on purchasing private vehicles and introduced public transport with cheap fairs and advanced technologies. This step successfully helped the local bodies in declining 2/3 of the automobiles from the pavements and controlling the rush hours. To conclude, the last 3 decades have grown the traffic unmanageable. The solution is to cut down the purchasing power of the people by increasing the rates of the jalopies and introducing some good alternate modes of travel.