In many countries, mainly tourists, but not local people, visit museums and historical sites. Why does this happen, and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

It is observed that visiting museums as well as historical sites are common among many tourists, but locals are not present in these places. Although there are certain reasons why this phenomenon occurs, certain solutions can be implemented by the government to tackle this problem. The fact that galleries and historical places do not entice many local people stems from certain causes. One of them is that these individuals, especially the younger generation, are not as interested in such locations as those in the past. This is because the architecture and exterior of heritage sites and other historical spots have not been renovated to keep pace with today’s aesthetic preferences nowadays. Another reason is that although it is undeniable that foreign tourists visit museums and historical landmarks to gain deeper insights into the host nation’s culture and history, the natives are not keen on doing so due to the teaching of history -related subjects at school. In Vietnam, for instance, such subjects are taught based on test-driven approaches, which means that students are not fully aware of certain events in the past. Ultimately, they are not motivated to go to historical places to understand more about what they have learned at school. However, the government plays a highly crucial role in stimulating its citizens to pay a visit to such locations by launching architectural projects and enhancing the quality of history classes in educational institutions. Regarding the former, instead of allocating a whole budget to tourism, the authority should spend a part of it on developing facilities as well as designs of galleries and historical landmarks so that the locals can be more intrigued to go to these areas. With regard to the latter, public funding should be channelled into teaching history. For instance, the government can increase the salaries of teachers responsible for this subject and invest in conducting conferences aiming at developing the efficiency of history learning curricula. In conclusion, despite the fact that historical places are becoming obsolete to local residents and distant to students, I believe that only by improving the architectural aspects and educational programs can the authorities motivate them to get to these places.