Some people feel that governments should take a large proportion of people's salaries to pay for necessary public services such as roads and schools. Others feel high taxes are a bad thing. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Public welfare and development are crucial responsibilities of the government. It is generally argued that in order to fulfil such services, they should levy heavy taxes while others believe it to be inappropriate. This essay will discuss both views and provide evidence as to why it is a bad thing to lay high taxes on citizens. Firstly, it is evident that the costs of building various infrastructures are exorbitant. In such circumstances, it is pragmatic to collect tax from people's income and provide them with necessities like schools, hospitals, roads and others of that ilk. To add further, the funds deducted are indirectly utilized to provide facilities and resources to the community. Therefore, taking a large sum of money from an employee for his betterment is a good thing. On the other hand, many people, including me espouse the thought that collecting a high amount from a salaried individual is not judicious. Certainly, if a person earns his living by doing an eight-hour job, he is authorized and completely responsible to decide where his money should be used. In addition, when the government mandate the tax, it becomes difficult for middle-class families to maintain their household. For instance, in India, it is difficult to manage the financial situation in a house of four with one earning member, as a major portion is deduced from their earnings. Thus, it could be a problem for many to pay taxes and consequently a bad thing. In conclusion, a tax collecting system can provide lots of benefits to society as the collected sum will be devoted to the people of the country. However, in my opinion, taking a large proportion can create more problems for them by creating a financial fiasco rather than making their life easy.