Water is a valuable finite resource. Therefore, many suggest that it is best for the governments all over the world to control how much water their citizens use. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this suggestion?

Water is an essential need for human existence in the world and governments are being pressured to regulate its consumption.It is so essential that it affects the economic stability and growth of many governments. Initially,traditional methods of storing water made it impossible for human beings to conserve water but with the modern methods now taking shape,it is now easier to conserve water even in arid and semi-arid geographical regions of the world. Governments have come up with essential infrastructures like the building of reserves and dams that have enabled effective water storage.It is now easier for water consumers all over the world to consume water without shortages compared to the old days. Primarily, governments should focus on reliable water treatment methods that restrict consumers from contracting hazardous diseases rather than engaging in the business of regulating water consumption and usage.More strict water -restricting acts should be enforced and anyone found guilty of contaminating water to be held accountable in the courts of law. This will make it a valuable finite resource. In conclusion, governments should engage their citizens in public awareness about water -related benefits rather than restricting the resource that humanity can never manage to live with.Once the public is aware of effective ways of storing and preserving water, then restriction plays no role since the resource will be used without wastage.The introduction of meter gauges to help monitor water usage should also help citizens limit themselves overconsumption.