Some people think that public health is the responsibility of government while others think that people should be responsible for their own health. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In the present age, whether public health is the responsibility of the government or individuals has sparked much debate. Some people assert that government should concern overall health of the community, whereas many others argue that the public should take care of their own health problems. Personally, I’m in favour of the latter view. Convincing arguments can be made that governments should solve public health troubles. To start with, they should construct health centres as well as sports centres to encourage people remain healthy. In other words, versatile sports centres encourage people to do some exercise and keep fit, on the other hand, a modern health centre and hospital are given a better and healthier life for citizens. Moreover, governments should run some campaigns and advertise extensively about public health to inform people about widespread diseases and their cures. Lastly, governments should make strict rules about health issues. For instance, who doesn't have health insurance should pay a high fine or obligate people to have a routine checks in the hospital. Admittedly, people should take care of themselves because nobody can understand their health problems and everybody has distinct lifestyle, which has a direct influence on their health. For example, smoking or eating unhealthy food which contain a lot of sugar, fat and carbohydrates cause serious health problems. Even so, governments can ban these destructive habits in society. In summary, I would concede that individuals should take care of themselves. Despite that, governments have a main role in dealing with public health. Overall, I am convinced that the well-being of society is the government’s responsibility.