Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

People in contemporary society have a wide range of employment options, including working as independent contractors or for an organization. The majority of people prefer working for themselves over an organization since it has some benefits, but there are also risks and disadvantages to take into account. Recently, a lot of people have decided to work as freelancers or start their own businesses because it gives them more flexibility and freedom. For example, someone who opens a small shop or restaurant can adjust the time they spend getting there and there is no set time for working, and mothers can divide their time between being with their kids. Additionally, the internet offers a global marketplace both during and after the pandemic, allowing for live and online selling. However, working for yourself requires a lot of effort and ultimate accountability to be successful. A freshly formed firm requires a lot of work to turn a profit; it is similar to raising a child; success requires careful management and lots of attention. Furthermore, unlike people who are employed by a corporation, there are no benefits like a pension, holiday pay, or sick leave. Last but not least, freelancing lacks consistency; it occasionally generates a profit and other times none at all, resulting in a financial catastrophe for the individual and their family. In conclusion, it is undeniable that the majority of people opt to work for themselves for a variety of reasons, but there are also dangers and negatives.