One problem faced by almost every large city is traffic congestion. · What do you think the causes are? · What solutions can you suggest?

Traffic management, over the years,has become quite critical. One of the principal challenges of life in a metro stems from vehicular traffic jams. In this essay, we shall discuss the causes of traffic being stuck and the remedies for the same with relevant examples. First and foremost, one of the principal causes of traffic congestion in older cities owes to the fact that roads are only a small proportion of the infrastructure and the increase in vehicles has not been in proportion to the increase in roads. To cite an instance, in Kolkata India, in the last decade the number of cars registered in the city, has doubled whereas the proportion of roads to the total area has remained the same. Moreover, slower-moving vehicles like tri-cycle carts, and encroachment of footpaths, subsequently, leading to people walking on the street, often slow down the pace of vehicle movement. For, example, in Dhaka, rickshaws lying on the road act as one of the main reasons for slow traffic leading to bottlenecks. Thus, analysing the above, the main causes can be traced to an unproportionate increase of vehicles on the roads and slower manual hauliers. As an answer to the problem, it can be suggested to have more elevated pathways,which create more road space for movement. For example, numerous flyovers have helped to improve vehicle congestion in New Delhi, India. Removal of unauthorised structures from footpaths can be effective in keeping pedestrians on the walkway itself concurrently, increasing the speed of cars. To exemplify, a municipal drive in Chittagong to remove obstructions on footpaths has been helpful to improve the movement of four-wheelers. Therefore, we see flyovers, obstruction removal from walkways and tighter laws as the logical steps in tackling this menace. To summarise, the congestion issues on roads can be effectively tackled with the right efforts. Smooth vehicular movement, will free the cities from traffic failure. All it needs is the right mix of intent from the citizens and the government to tackle this burning issue.