In some countries, people waste the food which they buy in shops and restaurants. What is the reason for this? What measures can be taken?

With the consumerist culture becoming more and more prevalent, some societies tend to be rather wasteful, purchasing food more than they need and throwing away the remainder. This essay will discuss the reasons behind this behavior and what can be done to deal with this issue. Due to the high standard of living in industrialized nations, people living therein afford to buy a wide range of food items in large quantities. If not stored properly, some of these edibles are likely to perish and a portion of them end up in bins. A further common reason is that a number of restaurants offer an excessive amount of a meal along with different appetizers in a single serving so as to maximize their profit. The usual outcome is that some of the food ordered remains uneaten and goes waste. But how could food loss be minimized? One solution would be for individuals to avoid buying perishables in surplus amounts or numbers. As some foods such as dairy products have relatively short expiry dates, it is essential that these foodstuffs not be bought more than necessary so that waste can be prevented. Yet another method would be to constantly remind people of the need to put an end to this careless behavior. (Explanation) In this respect, the media can play a massive role by providing regular coverage of this issue, thus making people more mindful of how much they should buy. In conclusion, buying more than needed and extravagance in restaurants are the primary reasons why so much food is discarded, but the problem can be tackled by avoiding buying edibles in large quantities and using the media to spread awareness of how much food is being thrown away.