In the future, people may no longer be able to pay for things in shops using cash. All payments may have to be made by card or using mobile phones. Do you think this will happen one day? Why do you think some people might not be happy to give up using cash?

In the modern tech world, the majority of people will prefer digital payment methods rather than cash. Although cashless payment is more effective, a minority of people are still not ready to accept the changes. This essay intends to analyse both types of payments and I personally side with the former view. Firstly, it is a fact that the new generation has been growing with technology. So their lifestyle also will be changed. Card payment will help us to make our purchasing quite effective, easy and eco-friendly. For instance, during the COVID pandemic, all types of shopping and paying had to be done online only and this saved us from direct contact with others and also helped us to minimise the spreading of the virus. Moreover, carrying a high volume of money will be resolved with digital cards and less use of paper will be helped us to lead a pollution-free environment. Although digital payment has benefits, some people like senior citizens or people who are not well-educated are not able to make the changes yet. Furthermore, lack of knowledge and awareness is also a big factor in this. For example, online scams are supposed to happen and the main target will be old age and illiterate people. Unfamiliarity to handle electrical equipment and technical methods like OTP, and QR code scanning is also a big deal for them. To conclude, even though there are both pros and cons to giving up cash, I believe that in the modern era people will be advanced and the main effect of this will be the replacement of cash.