Should long-term job seekers in receipt of government benefits be made to do voluntary work so that they give something back to the community? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The idea of a Job is to earn a living, not only for yourself but also for other people around you indirectly. Employees in a permanent role do not necessarily have to give back to society by picking up a voluntary job, they can decide to give back by taking care of their close relatives and ensuring the people around them are in good condition. However, I am of support that they should be made to do voluntary jobs so that they can give back rationally. This can help them to be more responsible for their community. Furthermore, engaging in a 3-hour voluntary job, helps the economy to balance, in a way that everyone in the community is their brother's keeper. while the government is trying its best possible to make the environment conducive for people, the people can contribute positively to it. In addition, this will bridge the gap for retired people who solely depend on the funds coming from their pension and support from the government. For instance, the employees voluntarily, go to care homes to look after these set of people, and help the government too. Also, from my experience as a carer, some employees who are not able to visit care homes and work for some hours willingly, send stuff to the people in the care homes like; foodstuff, and beverages and they are always well appreciated. In as much as the permanent workers enjoy some or all the government benefits in the economy, it is ideal that they also give back to the community. This could be by fundraising for a charity home or community service relieving the worker in that field. In conclusion, with the extra stretch of hands from the permanent employees to voluntarily give back to the community, our community will be a better place for everyone.