In some countries, more and more adults choose to continue to live with their parents after they graduate and have found jobs. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh its disadvantages?

There is a trend that is developing in some countries, in which the number of grown-ups choosing to live with their parents after they finish university and have landed a job is gradually increasing. This trend has some benefits to the lives of young adults, such as emotional support and financial stability, which have outweighed the drawbacks. The following essay will further discuss both sides of the argument. To begin with, an extended family would provide emotional support and valuable advice to its younger generations. As a person grows up, he or she has to face a lot of obstacles in their life, and having family stay close by their side through thick and thin is the biggest support they can receive. Not to mention, parents can provide valuable advice, which is based on the experience they have accumulated during their life, to their children to help them overcome difficulties. Moreover, living together with predecessors will help youngsters temporarily reach financial stability. This is because when living under the same roof with their mother and father, young adults could share the bills with the older generation and help them save money for other purposes. Additionally, youngsters could receive financial support from their forebears, thus reducing the financial burden on their shoulders. For example, if young people want to acquire a luxurious asset such as a car, they could lend money from their father and mother instead of borrowing money from the bank. This will save them from the annual interest from the contract with the bank. Last but not least, adults can save time by avoiding travelling across the country to reach their parent’s house in the holidays. For instance, during Tet, many families travel hundreds of kilometers from where they are living to their original hometown. This will shorten the time they can share with other family members. On the other hand, there are certain demerits that sharing a house with their forebears holds, namely the generation gap and privacy. Each generation has its own problems and its unique way of living, which can be different to its predecessor. For example, young people would like to spend their weekends hanging out with their friends all day long instead of staying home and doing house chores, while their parents would expect the opposite. Furthermore, the young generation values their privacy and wants to spend time own their own. However, parents have access to their children’s private spaces and sometimes violate their privacy. Taking personal items as an example, the elders can take stuff such as toys and figures from their children’s room and give them to younger siblings without consent. This could lead to discontent among family members. To conclude, though there are some negative effects of living with parents, sharing the same roof with your predecessor could benefit young adults financially and emotionally. Hence, the merits of living together as an extended family have definitely outweighed the drawbacks.