Many people believe that high schools should focus their education on mathematics and science, rather than covering a wider range of subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

During our academic journey, we are taught about multiple subjects and we cover certain fields more than others. Commonly, some of the main courses focused on are mathematics and science, and some people claim that these latest should be the main principles of education. Personally, I envision that a balanced curriculum should involve scientific courses but also non-scientific ones such as literature or art, and this essay will further elaborate on my point of view. On the one hand, science contributes majorly to our education from an early age. In other words, some of the first subjects we are introduced to during our curriculum are mathematics, physics and chemistry. They occupy later a major place throughout the years, which is due to their importance in multiple fields like engineering, architecture and business. An example to illustrate would be the utility of math while planning new building maps or roads in order to achieve a precise construction. Thus, engineers and architects should be able to master science, which is only possible if they focus on it from an early age. On the other hand, other subjects are equally important in education. Introducing students to literature, languages, art and sports contributes to the diversity of learning and the development of a balanced society. Furthermore, the differences between students mean that certain kids are better skilled at art or sports than others, therefore, they should be given the opportunity to excel in those fields. For instance, many international universities offer scholarships for athletes and artists who achieved higher scores during their high school years, which motivates the youth to follow their passions. To summarize, I personally think that scientific and non-scientific courses should be given the same importance during the primary school years in order to offer equal opportunities to all students, as some are skilled in math while others are blessed with artistic brains.