Nowadays, some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is it the case? It is a positive or negative development?

Some recruiters claim academic qualifications are more crucial than life experience and personal characteristics. In this essay, I will first discuss why the opinion appears and later demonstrate this perspective is detrimental to the development of human sourcing and selection. To begin with, this point of view arose along with the outstanding development of nowadays society that improving labour force quality is needed, and one of the necessary proving partly employees' competencies is an academic degree. Higher education will give people the good in-depth knowledge and skills needed for their jobs. Talent acquisition officers suppose this criterion to select qualified resumes, then conduct interviews and screen candidates to find the right person for the position. Consequently, formal qualifications are becoming more critical in modern society. However, this opinion can cause many negative impacts indirectly on human resource sourcing and selection. Firstly, if employers concentrate on academic degrees, they will unwittingly eliminate potential candidates with skills and good personalities being suitable for the position but have no tertiary education. Because of the high tuition fees, only some can be affordable. In Vietnam, some evidence indicates that one of the prominent reasons that many people cannot access tertiary education, even though they have good abilities, is that the cost higher than financial capacity. As a result, sourcing activities and selecting employees will become more challenging. Secondly, high academic qualifications only partly exhibit the ability of workers, not their full capabilities. There have been many cases of only graduating from high school, but they have abundant work experience, good skills and competency, and a positive working attitude. The factors of life experience and personality are more important than the academic degree of the employee at work. To sum up, the view that emphasizes academic qualifications over life experience and personality can cause obstacles in the search and selection of personnel, furthermore, in the development of the human resource management field.