In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

It is true that nowadays living alone or living nuclear families have been trendy between many towns people. In my opinion this is negative trend. There are several reasons why I would argue that living in a nuclear families have trend. Living in a nuclear family and growing up alone can have a negative effect on children's minds. Because in a nuclear family or single parent, childcare becomes a stressful part of daily life. Children who grow up with only their parents in a nuclear family without grandparents or aunts and uncles want to be alone after they finish their school. Therefore, children who grow up in a nuclear families become a little more introvert than children who grow up in an extended family. On the other hand. Perhaps living alone is become a trendy among people. However it has a big damage to human's health from the mental side people who live alone have no one to talk, therefore they cannot share their problems or discuss the events of their daily life. Humans who live alone tend to watch more TV, play video games and chat with friends online due to the lack of the contact with people in the home. All of these can increase mental illness. Take everything into a account I believe that people prefer to live in an extended family and worrying live in a nuclear family.