Some employers believe that job applicants’ social skills are more important than their academic qualifications. Do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, organizations consider both educational as well interpersonal skills before deploying an applicant for the available vacancy. This has always been a matter of debate, if their emotional intelligence is as vital as their academic qualification and employers’ opinions, regarding this, vary. I totally see eye to eye with this opinion, and in this essay, I will explain the reason for this belief. Firstly, human resources are considered a crucial asset of the organization and their contribution to the progress of a business is undeniable. They represent the organization in front of society, customers and vendors. Moreover, the growth of a business can be hampered extensively, if the people working with it, do not go well with their coordinators. For example, to crack a deal with a client, an organization does not appoint an employee who is only well qualified but has a great understanding to read the mind of the client and can behave accordingly. Secondly, when people in the organization go well with each other, they work as a better team to contribute towards its growth. In today’s era, there is no such work that can be done solely; hence, an organization appoints a team to work on a project. If people working as a team do not behave in well-manner with each other, it will create a hostile environment in offices. Additionally, it will create such an organizational and work culture where no one would like to work which will result in frequent resignations by employees. To cite an example, I would mention my own real-life experience of an organization where I worked for just 10 months because of the uncooperative and unfriendly behaviour of my colleagues. In a nutshell, I would say that along with academic qualification, it is indispensable for employers to take the social skills of employees into consideration because business growth is not dependent only on the knowledge that employees possess but also on how well they go with each other and their clients.