Some educationalists argue that non-exam, arts-based subjects, such as music, drama, art and craft should be compulsory in the secondary school curriculum. They believe that activities such as these can improve overall performance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In many schools around the world, teachers are teaching The Arts to students and the curriculum of the secondary schools include this. Many people say that these art -based subjects are unnecessary and pupils have to focus on science subjects but some people disagree and they believe that teaching art can help them. This essay explains why it is beneficial for them. In my opinion, some pupils understand art more than other subjects and teaching them art could reveal their talents. To illustrate, many children get enthusiast by art and they have natural talents in art. For instance, a student that learn how to draw or build handicrafts in his or her earlier stages of life, one day could become an outstanding designer because his or her skills was enhanced in childhood. Therefore, teenagers who get skilled in art -based subjects and are more into it can pave the way of success more easily than others. From my point of view, another factor which teaching art could result in, is that students can find their path sooner and find out who they want to be. To put it another way, a child who gets to know fine arts, realizes that what is going to do someday for society and understands what occupation is good for him or her. For example, a child learns how to act in secondary school and gets passionate about that subject and chooses his or her carrier sooner and does not waste his or her time. Hence, learning art could be beneficial for those who want to find out about themselves. To conclude, many schools are involving art subjects in their programs and I think art could be an integral part of youngsters lives. Teachers have to play their part in teaching them as the best they can to give Society perfect artists.