Many people prefer to watch foreign films rather than locally produced films. Why could this be? Should governments give more financial support to local film industries?

Most Indonesians prefer to consume foreign films rather than local films. There are numerous reasons as to why this may be. These reasons could be used to help understand what makes foreign films more desirable. As media is dominated by the West, popular themes and topics that are often freely discussed online tend to not appear in local films. Many of these ideas are viewed as taboo due to Indonesia being a very conservative nation. Filmmakers refuse to incorporate them as they fear the backlash that could result from including these topics. This aversion towards more taboo topics inhibits more creative writing. The local movies we are provided with generally have similar plot points, which results in monotony. The lack of experienced individuals is another thing to consider. It is often argued that the acting performed in these films is seen as unnatural. This issue makes it difficult for watchers to enjoy the film as a stiff acting style does not do a good job of immersing us inside of the story. Foreign productions, especially those from the US, are commonly of higher quality as these nations have had much more time to develop their entertainment industry, meaning they have more experience in producing films that people will enjoy. Although a large amount of funding is needed to create a film, I don’t think that governments should give more financial support. They should instead support filmmakers by being more lenient on the censorship laws. If more of the controversial topics are allowed to make it on the big screen, there will be a much better variety of films in the market. This allows for exposure to a larger market and would increase the film industry’s revenue. To summarize, locals prefer foreign films due to there being more variety, with themes that don’t usually get discussed by local films, and having a higher quality overall. However, the government could aid by reducing censorship laws in order to open up discussions in these films regarding nuanced topics.