DISCUSSION ESSAY Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about whether students should pursue subjects that they are passionate about or STEM fields such as science, technology, engineering, and mathematics that could benefit people's lives. While there could be some advantages to studying STEM subjects, I believe that students ought to study what they are keen on. On the one hand, it is believed that STEM subjects would be helpful for society. It is clear that the 21st century is the era of new innovations and technologies, making the lives of a number of people convenient. It can therefore be argued that if governments invest more money in those fields and make university students aware of the benefits of science and technology, it will make significantly larger changes to society. For example, this century has brought us a lot of suffering, including global warming, the COVID-19 pandemic, and the extinction of species around the world, and if more emphasis is put on those fields, that could tackle these global problems in the future. On the other hand, I believe that students should go for the fields that they have a passion for. In other words, there are more important fields of study than STEM ones, including nursing, teaching, and music, which could considerably benefit society. For instance, the majority of people have been opting for science and engineering in search of profit, forcing them to work in unwanted jobs for the rest of their lives and triggering depression, anxiety, and stress. I can therefore believe that if students studied what they wanted, it would affect society in a major way, because they do love their jobs and continue to improve what they do in the workplace. In conclusion, I can understand why it can be argued that STEM fields are considered necessary in the future, but it seems to me that striving for domains they like would be more desirable.