The advent of the internet has made it possible for people to work from home. Do you feel this working arrangement has more advantages or disadvantages?

The Internet has modernised the corporate world significantly, providing individuals with the ability to work remotely without requiring a physical presence in the office. The many benefits of remote working are accompanied by undisputable drawbacks. This essay will thoroughly analyse some of the advantages and disadvantages of remote working before finally stating a position. Remote working is comfortable in the sense that it allows working individuals to do their jobs, join seminars and meet important deadlines without the excess stress of commuting to work. The most obvious benefit of remote working is that it is time saving and cost-effective. Professionals do not have to waste time getting dressed or spend hours in rush-hour traffic. To elaborate on this argument, people spend on average one to two hours per day to commute to and from their workplace. Although working from home saves valuable time for employees, the opposite effect might transpire. Working from home requires significant self-discipline and will power to work. Individuals who work from home are more prone to be distracted by their surroundings and tend to procrastinate more often as they do not have set working hours that motivates them to complete a task. For example, during the Covid-19 pandemic, people were required to work from home and as a result, they ended up working longer hours than they did at the office. Thus, working from home leads to procrastination and inevitably longer working hours. In conclusion, remote working is an option that technology and the Internet has realised. The advantage of spending less time traveling seems like a revealing option, however the disadvantage of having no set working hours and procrastination clearly outweighs this advantage. Companies should strongly reconsider allowing this proposition as it may affect the productiveness of their employees.