In many parts of the world, people are relying more and more on prepared food from grocery stores and restaurants because they are too busy to cook at home. This is a bad idea because home-cooked food is much better for us. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

In the current era, many people, around the world, choose to rely on pre-made food sold in supermarkets and restaurants rather than cook homemade meals because they are lacking time and energy. Some people claim that this phenomenon has a negative impact because home-cooked food is better. Personally, I fully agree with this idea and this essay will further elaborate on my point of view. To begin with, consuming fast food has many negative effects on overall health. In other words, this type of cuisine is prepared with excessive amounts of salt, saturated fats and hidden sugar, which plays a huge role in making these types of meals not only delicious but addictive too. Furthermore, consuming these aliments regularly leads to long-term obesity and other health issues such as diabetes and cardiac disease. For instance, the countries with the highest rates of fast food consumption also have populations with the most comorbidities. Thus, prepared dishes from supermarkets and restaurants should be limited and avoided as much as possible. Moreover, consuming a home-cooked meal has many benefits. Firstly, you can control the amounts of sugar and fat put in the dishes and consequently, you make them healthier. Secondly, using fresh ingredients, namely local vegetables and organic meat, while cooking at home boosts the dish with lean protein, fibre and vitamins. In addition to this, cooking can be considered a fun activity, if the whole family is involved in it for example, and kids get to play and learn at the same time as preparing meals, which makes the bond between parents and children stronger. To summarize, I personally think that everyone should limit the quantity of processed food consumed and opt for home-prepared meals even if they are short on time since they can always make healthy and uncomplicated dishes in a short amount of time which will benefit both their health and body.