Some people think that job satisfaction is more important than job security, while some people think that they cannot always expect job satisfaction, a permanent job is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Perceptions regarding what we should prioritise when building a career have radically changed in recent years and become a highly debateable issue. Some claim that the satisfaction you get in your job is vital, while others disagree as think that having security is what should really matter. In this essay, I will discuss both perspectives and explain why I agree that having stability is a lot more essential than satisfaction. To begin with, job satisfaction is essential because of several reasons, the main one being its direct relation to performance. If employees are happy doing their jobs, there is a positive ambience and higher productivity at work. In addition, satisfied staff tend to stay longer with the company and as result, there is a much lower attrition rate, which also benefits the overall company performance. There are others, however, who support the idea that the key to success in life is job security. Firstly, the sense of security that guaranteed employment brings, similar to job satisfaction, enhances trust in an employer, increases staff efficiency levels and helps to retain them. Furthermore, a guaranteed contract implies not only a steady income but also gradual growth, which in its turn allows us to achieve more in life, for instance, travel more, afford things we like, and make a relevant investment. Finally, having a permanent job contributes to reducing stress and fear, creating a sense of stability. For example, according to a number of authoritative sources those with job insecurity were almost three times more likely to experience depression, anxiety and stress, respectively. Thus, job security secures mental health and peace, which in my personal opinion, are vital to our well-being and happiness. In conclusion, even though job satisfaction is important, I believe that having security at work is far more significant if we want to reduce stress in life and enjoy it.