Air transport is increasingly used to export fruits and vegetables to countries where they cannot be grown or are out of season. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Air shipments across different nations regarding food that are produced seasonal are in demand. The beneficial effects of air transport are stability and manpower availability. However, the drawbacks are increased prices of commodities and strain on the environment. One advantage of importing fruit and vegetable is that people could indulge in their cravings because it is readily available in the store. In addition, there would be no shortage in the stocks of food. This will sustain the needs of people regarding the accessibility of fruits and vegetables in the market. Another benefit, the increased production of food means more employment to people which results to economic growth. Moreover, many individuals will become productive and will have a prosperous life. For example, the Philippines is known for exporting bananas all over the world which helps generate income for the people. On the other hand, the disadvantage of the imported product is increase in its price cost on food items. Apart from that, it would cause an additional burden to consumers in purchasing this product. Hence, produced shift by plane has a tremendous effect on environmental pollution. The use of fossil fuels contributes to CO2 emissions that would result in global warming. For instance, a recent report indicated that 26% of global greenhouse gas production was from food transport by air accounts. In conclusion, while the benefits of imported fruit and vegetable allow people to eat a variety of food all year round and the increased demand means more work and profit. The food will become expensive and environmental pollution will worsen because of the negative effects of air shipment.