Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that in many cities around the world there are constant traffic jams. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from owning cars?

In the past thirty years, purchasing a vehicle has become a necessity for the majority of people. However, I strongly believe that the increasing amount of people commuting by private vehicle is causing traffic congestion almost everywhere. To tackle this particular issue, the government must provide a good public transportation system and raise the vehicle tax. Three decades ago, cars were considered a luxury item, as they were very expensive and scarce. However, turning to the present time, there are various types of cars that are sold at different price ranges. In addition to that, people who reside in rural areas start to work in the city, which eventually require them to have a vehicle to commute. The addition of more and more cars on the road has caused traffic jams in many places, especially in bigger cities. From my perspective, many workers prefer driving a car due to inadequate public transportation. To overcome this problem, the government must develop a better public transportation system, which should be affordable and accessible in all areas. For instance, in first world countries with well-developed public transportation, only a small amount of the population own a car as they can travel anywhere easily by bus or tram. Moreover, the government should raise the tax of owning a vehicle to make car ownership become less attractive. Thus, people will reconsider their car ownerships and start to ride public transportation. To sum up, although there has been an increasing trend of car purchase, there are some measures that can be done to overcome traffic jams. If the government provides adequate public transportation, everyone will no longer drive cars.