Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about the choice of students with regard to university subjects. The number of people suppose that students ought to study what they prefer, while others argue that it would be beneficial for students to be forced into certain key subject areas. This essay will discuss both these points of view and argue in favor of the former. There are various reasons why people believe that universities should only offer subjects that will be useful in the future. They might consider that university courses such as higher mathematics, medicine, engineering and information technology is much advantageous for society compared to art or other types of humanitarian specialties. From their points of view, students who is getting a knowledge in these courses have a tremendous opportunity to get a job with high wage. Meanwhile, the authority, by forcing students to choose particular specialties, tend to evolve the country’s economy. For instance, if there will be a plenty of engineers in the country, it will have a positive impact on the construction of residential buildings, factories and other vital facilities for society. Nevertheless, I believe that students who is passionate about what they are learning, they also have at least as significant role in community. Nobody can really predict which areas of knowledge will be most useful to society in the future, and it may be that employers begin to value creative thinking skills above practical or technical skills. If this were the case, perhaps we would need more students of art, history and philosophy than of science or technology. To sum up, even though it might seem sensible for universities to focus only on the most useful subjects, I personally prefer to give a choice to students in learning a new profession.