“Eating too much sugar is harmful for our health. Some people think that it is government responsibility to limit people’s sugar consumption, while others think that it is an individual’s responsibility to limit the amount of sugar they eat.

In recent years, a debate regarding sugar consumption has emerged. In particular, while everyone agrees that eating too much sugar is detrimental to health, there are opposite views about who has to intervene to limit sugar consumption, with some people saying that should be the government and others affirming that is an individual responsibility. In this essay, a brief explanation of this debate will be given. It is undoubtedly true that government action could largely resolve the sugar consumption issue. In fact, an eventual government ban on unhealthy food could effectively address the problem at its root, eliminating the supply of people eating too much sugar. Moreover, government campaigns against other substances have already proved to be effective, so this could be applied to this case too. For instance, anti-smoking campaigns, promoted by some countries, have reduced the number of cigarettes smoked. Finally, on a moral side, it is the government's duty to protect its citizens, and this protection comes also from guaranteeing their well-being. Given all this, it is not entirely inaccurate to say that it is the government's responsibility to limit sugar consumption. On the other hand, people should be free to decide what is better for them. Actually, limited consumption of sugar could be beneficial and, for this, a government cannot ban it completely, but should only inform the population about possible health risks. Furthermore, if someone wants to eat more sugar, there are many ways of doing so, even if the political power tries to stop it. For example, historically, when there has been a ban on some substances, almost always a black market emerged and this type of trade was not regulated, with all the dangers that derive from this. In addition, as stated above, people should have the possibility to decide for themselves, without having external forces imposing their views. Surely, relying completely on the population's sensibility on the matter could be not as effective as a centralized policy. In conclusion, it could be said that both views have their strong and weak points. Whereas citizens should be free to take decisions for their health, it is true that not only they could not reduce consumption, but also increase it. For this reason, a hybrid approach should be preferred, with public-funded information campaigns to spread awareness on the overconsumption of sugar, but letting the population decide what they should do.