People hobbies and interests change over time and are more a reflection of trends and fashions than an indication of what individuals really want to do in their spare time. To what extent do you agree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer. You should use your own ideas, knowledge, and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

In the contemporary world, the hobbies and interests of people are utterly influenced by ongoing social trends and fashions,making people thoroughly dissatisfied with their leisure time as it is out of their own will.I completely agree with this perspective as individuals are obsessed with higher standards of living and afraid of social embarrassment in front of people. A solid reason to involve in popular leisure activities is recognizing them as norms of the high-class society. Furthermore, people tend to pursue the top class by attending these fashionable trends to achieve their improbable goals. For example,more youngsters are attracted to casinos to spend their leisure time,because these are places where high-ranked businessmen, famous actors, and reputed sportsmen enjoy their time.Even though these youngsters would appreciate spending time with their friends to play cricket on a small ground,their ambition of reaching the high class drags them to casinos.In short, people are involved in certain activities for the mere purpose of social ranking rather than their own interest. Besides, some individuals are afraid of being criticized for their hobbies.Many people love reading books, writing poems, and poetry, which are solo activities,and it might lead to unexpected consequences such as labelling them as introverts or socially phobic. For instance, many famous authors who thoroughly enjoy their solitary are misunderstood as psychotic patients. Overall, people are afraid of being judged by society as psychopaths,and it influences critically on their decisions. In conclusion, I believe people take adverse decisions regarding their hobbies to fulfil their future targets and to get rid of the social stigma.