Some shops are open 24 hours a day and 7 days a week. Do you think it is a good thing for customers, the shop staff and the economy as a whole?

Growing demands for a more convenient lifestyle in modern society have led to incredible improvements in stores. While some people believe that stores which are open 24 hours and 7 days a week have great advantages in various perspectives, others are concerned about their negative consequences. I generally support the latter views for the following reasons. On one hand, it is undeniable that stores which open every day are beneficial as they provide great convenience and lead to the prosperity of a national economy. Indeed, there are growing numbers of convenience stores and fast-food restaurants in urban cities. This is very helpful for people in emergencies such as having sudden diseases and having immediate needs to purchase some items for work and school. Furthermore, these stores attract potential customers during the night and early morning and companies can expect more profits than stores which have a closing time. On the other hand, in spite of such benefits for both individuals and stores, there are some serious issues related to the extension of the working hours. First, only a few financial gains are expected because of fewer customers visiting the stores. In fact, opening for 24 hours is inefficient as the running costs including electricities and hiring staffs get higher. Secondly, this poses a serious threat to the health of the employees, who often suffer from a shortage of time for sleep and rest. Lastly, more criminal activities like robberies and murders occur during the night. Therefore, stores should be closed to protect the safety of the employees. In conclusion, stores that are open 24 hours and 7 days can serve various needs of people. However, the deteriorating health conditions of the workers and higher rates of crime should be taken into serious consideration.