Large chain stores are taking over the marketplace in many places, making it impossible for small businesses to compete. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this situation?

In the modern world, tiny local outlets are disappearing daily because of the domination of the market by giant corporations, such as food or clothing companies, which are challenging to fight against. Generally, although these retail companies can benefit society, their monopolisation may impact the economy. Compared to family business shops, large chain stores, like supermarkets or shopping malls, can offer a variety of products just under one roof, which is relatively time-saving. For instance, if someone needs to buy meat and sugar, he or she does not need to go to the butcher's shop and grocery store, as both of these products are available to get in one place, the supermarket. In addition, purchasing goods in these large chain stores are more reliable than in groceries since most of them have the certifications issued by the authorities that guarantee safety. Monopolizing has become a significant issue in today's economic system. As countless large corporations dominate the market, they can charge for products or services, substantially impacting consumers. For example, in Myanmar, when a large internet service provider company monopolised the network system of the whole country in 2021, charges doubled. It has made one-quarters of Burmese civilians unable to have internet access. To conclude, although large corporations can partially benefit individuals, they have an enormous impact on the economy because of their manipulation and monopolisation of the market.