Some parents say that they should encourage their children to take part in organized group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

In this modern era, parents are concerned to nurture their adolescents in the best possible way they can. On that note, many people opine that children should be engaged in extra-curricular activities in their spare time whereas, other groups believe that they must engage themselves on their own. This essay will discuss both perspectives along with my opinion. To commence with, there is myriad benefit to engaging children in extra-curricular activities in their free time. Firstly, they will become more independent and confident when they spent time with their peers and secondly, it also develops a sense of competition in them to do better which is quite essential in this competitive world. For example, recent research on children's activities determined that 80 per cent of children who are engaged in different activities such as swimming and sports are extremely advanced as compared to those who are not involved in such activities. On the other hand, people who believe that their adolescents should engage themselves on their own have some drawbacks because they are not mature enough to decide which activity is going to help them in future and they keep on doing things according to their decision-making power. Also, enrolling a child in extracurricular activities involves good money which is not affordable for everyone. To conclude, I firmly encourage people to choose the right activity for their children which not only engage them but also motivate them for their future endeavour.