Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects at university in many countries. Why is this? What effects does this have on society?

It is impossible to disprove the fact that the scarcity in the numbers of students entering science subjects when compared to other disciplines. This trend has been increasing and causing many problems. In this essays shall shed light on the justifications for this statement and an unavoidable effects toward this trend As regards the reasons,one of the primary justifications contributing to the declining numbers of scientific certificate holders, such as Math Applied and Pure Science, are the degree of their challenges. Those who enter science fields are more likely to be diligent and patient. What’s more, intelligence, innovative ideas, and broad vision are required for these subjects and learners have to carry out a barrage of experiments which are mostly tough. Notwithstanding they are offered a well paid job, getting an occupation for science after graduation is very difficult in this competitive world and easily wind up unemployed. Hence,some people gravitate towards other subjects that are less demanding such as business and finance or art in view of their easy comprehension and find a steady job. For the most part, governments focus the investment source on economics and finance which make science areas fall through the cracks. Therefore, there are less diverse networks of scientific community compared to other areas. But downplaying the values of science areas may bring a plethora of effects to society. It goes without saying, science plays a paramount importance in our community. Science and technology are focused on sustainable development, less riskier and can be applied to every corner of our daily life. For example, biochemistry brings the merits of shampoo creation, pet treatment and food experiments, and Computer science will help us to create innovative permutation devices. But with the scarcity of workforce in science fields will make our endeavor become obsolete and our society will take a retrograde step, a possible consequence is the lack of technological and clinical breakthroughs.In health and medication, deficiencies in machines like AI technology will make it hard to diagnose potential diseases and find out the methods to cure them.In the context of corona pandemic, developed countries have a strong point in STEM areas and tended to invent vaccine to save people while developing countries were struggling waiting to hand out the vaccination. If it had not been for this great invention, the repercussions would have been unimaginable. To conclude, although having many difficulties in science is inevitable,it will give a bright future for those who work hard. Moreover, the consequence of downplaying the crucial nature of science may affect our society in the long run, and we will bear the weight of labor scientists shortage which may bring a drawback to our society as a whole