Some people think that shops should not be allowed to sell any food or drink that has scientifically been proved to have bad effects on people’s health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is thought by some that businesses should not be permited to sell any food or drink which has been testified by scientists to exert a negative impact on people's heallth.In my opinion, I disagree with this statement. Admittedly, the prohibition of putting unhealthy food items on shelves can elevate the public health to higher levels. This will result in the reallocation of resources, meaning that more funds will be poured into producing high quality foods. This will result in the redistribution of resources from the production of unhealthy goods to the manufacturing of healthy ones, thus making citizens healthier. However, if we can control the intake of some types of these products, we can actually benefit from the consumption. For instance, coffee contains caffeine, which is harmful to our health. Nevertheless, a healthy dose of coffee especially after long time exposure to work enables us to get fully refreshed and reinvigorated, thereby regaining enthusiasm for work. On top of the argument mentioned above, preventing coffee from entering the market is likely to cause negative economic consequences. Coffee has been gaining popularity worldwide over the past few decades and has become an indispensable component of GDP in many countries. Therefore, the banning of it may lead to structural unemployment as well as a reduction in tax revenues, which could have been allocated to other essential fields, thus stimulating economic growth. Furthermore, denying the access of some kinds of unhealthy food to the market may give rise to severe social problems. Specifically, junk foods, such as cheese burgers, are usually served in big portion but are charged a reletively low price, which is beneficial to low-income groups, who have difficultuly difficultly in making ends meet.Once the underprivileged are deprived of the right to consume these goods, they are likely to shoulder a bigger financial burden. In the worst case, this can lead to socail instability due to robbery or thieft. When all is said and done, ban all types of unhealthy food as the drawbacks far outstrip the benefits of the prohibtion.