One way to solve problem of congestion in cities is to build sky trains which run overhead rather than on or under the ground. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using this solution to solve congestion?

It is clear that traffic jams are becoming a major problem in metropolitan areas. It is believed that this issue can be tackled by constructing overhead railway stations which host sky trains instead of the trains that run on the ground or under it. In this essay, I will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of this view with examples. On one hand, building railway points on or under the ground requires a huge amount of space. This space can be utilized in an even better way by building overhead metro stations. For instance, if the government decides to start the sky train service, the land on the ground can be used to build additional highways which can play an important part in reducing car congestion. In addition, this can generate a sizeable amount of revenue as this mode of transport is often considered a huge attraction around the world. On the other hand, the construction of this transport over a large distance can cost an extortionate amount of money. Due to this, the maintenance cost is also high. Because the service cost is high, citizens also have to pay huge ticket prices. Furthermore, these cables are more vulnerable to adverse weather conditions as compared to the others. This is because of the height at which they operate. For example, it is commonly seen that more servicing is carried out during the monsoons instead of other seasons. In conclusion, although there are various advantages of adopting overhead train transport such as reducing congestion or using the space available for other productive things, there are also a few disadvantages attached to it like the construction and maintenance costs and the effects of bad weather.