Nowadays many people have access to computers on a wide basis and a large number of children play computer games. What are the negative impacts of playing computer games and what can be done to minimize the bad effects?

In today’s highly digital society, many children have been increasingly spending an important amount of their time on computer, specifically on playing games. This has impacted seriously their lifestyle in terms of loss of productivity and ability in socialisation. It seems to be clear that measures need to be taken in order to mitigate the detrimental influences that can have on youngster. It is undeniable that the skyrocketing hours spent on videogames are owing to several harmful effects. It is evident that children are more commonly wasting their precious time in activities that are not assisting them in the thriving process, such as using crucial technologies on unnecessary games. This reliance on computers for mere scope not only does not benefit them, due to wasting resourceful tools for ignoble reasons, but also affects their mental and physical health. Hours invested into gaming could have been employed in intense study, exercise or to participate to cultural events. Moreover, youngster who dedicate their time to computer games may lack on socialisation skills which are fundamental in real world. As a result, the next generation will have a limited communication ability as well as a network of connections, which will turn in detrimental effect on our overall economy. What is needed is for the government and parents to take action to solve this problem. One measure that would improve the situation is if the parents committed to set boundaries and limiting games hours. For instance, they could incentive rewards whether they voluntarily minimise time spent on computer games. This would bring a drastically reduction in playing. However, government should establish laws and regulations that enforce the previous principal and address it to the company maker, so that rigid rules can improve the harmful effects that this practice could have on children. To sum up, unless some solutions are found, this trend may not be reduced, causing dreadful effects on youngster’s future. Therefore, I believe that the only way to improve the situation is for the government and family members to step in and intervene providing rewards for time spent in diverse activities and impose limits.