Water is in short supply in many countries of the world, but consumption of water by families is increasing. Why is this happening? What can be done to preserve water?

Water is one of the most important resources on earth.There is a shortage of water in most countries, however, the water consumed by households keeps rising. This essay will explain the reasons for water shortage and give some solutions to combat the water crisis. There are several factors that contribute to the water crisis across the globe. One of the main reasons is climate change where the rise in temperature affects the water level drastically to ground level. For instance, more than 50% of households in Accra experience periodic purified water supply as a result of massive drying of water levels from water bodies. Another factor is the lack of source of water, most of the water supply is from the water bodies such as lakes, rivers and streams. Nonetheless, water from these bodies is not sufficient for the growing population in many countries. For example, water supply from the Akosombo Dam on supply 20% of Accra's population. Finally, the unavailability of advanced technology to treat water from other sources like seawater for human consumption. The effect of scarcity of water has a devastating effect on most nations, however, countries should come up with the results of this disaster. Nations should explore other sources of water such as boreholes and desalination in addition to rivers and lakes. For example, less than a decade ago, Ghana constructed its first desalination plant. In addition, consistent advancement in technology is one of the solutions to the water crisis where advanced machinery is used to treat hard water to soft water for human use. For instance, water from boreholes usually hard water can be treated with modern technology by extracting the salt compound. Lastly, there should be high tariffs on the water supply to regulate the misuse of water. People who live in huge estates with artificial garden turns out to waste more water on watering their loans. In conclusion, water is essential in our daily lives, and the lack of water is caused by many factors, therefore, measures should be put in place by nations to find results to the water crisis.