In some schools and universities, girls tend to choose art (e.g. literature), and boys tend to choose science subjects (e.g. physics). Why do you think this is so? Should this tendency be changed?

The reason for the girls choosing mostly art or human-related fields and boys choosing mostly science or engineering-related fields such as physics, computer science or STEM, in short, may be due to several reasons. The obvious reason would be the natural tendencies girls and boys have to choose their field of profession. Which can be explained by simply being more curious or passionate about various topics inherently. Other reasons for this can be i) Socialization factor, girls being more social in general may make them drawn to pursue fields which involve more human interaction or fine arts whereas boys being less social and more curious about problem-solving can results in being drawn into more problem-solving related fields ii) Stereotypes, since children learn their role in society from a very young age, they may have tendencies to follow traditional attributions. iii) Lack of role models, not having role models in opposite professions may lead people to stick with fields in which their gender is a majority. In conclusion, while having tendencies in a direction which a person feels skilled or passionate about is nice, being discouraged from a profession just because of the stereotypes or lack of examples is an issue that needs to be addressed. While I do not agree with the necessity to have equal gender in every profession, I strongly believe that society should be in a state where equal opportunities are presented for everyone regardless of their gender.