Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be used in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

There are contrasting opinions in some parts of society concerning courses scholars should take up in college. These people claim that students should study subjects they are interested in whereas others are of the view that STEM courses should be made mandatory due to their benefits in the long run. Despite the high rate of job opportunities that are associated with science and technology-inclined courses I strongly agree that passion for one’s job leads to growth and productivity in one’s line of career later in life. On the one hand, people take up subjects they are fond of in school due to job satisfaction in future. Studying for passion makes one be involved and put in their best at job places, this in turn will increase productivity and ensure a balance between work and life. For instance, statistics according to British journals published on 5th May 2020 show that the majority of persons who neglected subjects they liked in college are living in regret as a result of the frustration they encounter daily at their place of work. Furthermore, balancing work and life cannot be overemphasized as it improves mental health. On the other hand, STEM courses provide job opportunities across the country, which makes it the most valued line of study in schools. The world evolves around science and technology, hence people who studied these courses in colleges get recruited immediately after graduation. They become financially stable to cater for their needs. For example, the United States of America actively recruit graduates that studied STEM courses thrice yearly providing them with incentives like accommodation and sponsored trip. In other words, getting employed soon after graduation gives a sense of fulfilment in life. In conclusion, in my opinion, I concur with the fact that taking up subjects one has a passion for improves mental health as well as productivity. Their enthusiasm to work lands them in managerial positions that will increase wages. 300words