Traditions are about the past and innovation is about the future, and it has been argued that we need to let go of traditions for the sake of progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this? What role should traditions have in our lives?

Traditions are frequently challenged by innovation, since most of them are considered as outdated perspectives. Despite the fact that traditions could play an essential role of reminding people of their roots, I strongly agree that some traditions should be put behind to make progress for the future. Traditions, nowadays, should take the role to introduce to the next generation the life of their ancestors, while people should learn it with critical thinking, knowing not all of them are worth to be inherited. Traditions are valued by most people since it contains the wisdom from ancestors to upbring their descendants, which has strong influences on local societies. However, strictly following traditions could restrict the development of a society, since innovation could go against the principles of traditions. For example, the development of astronomical science makes people doubt the existence of gods, along with it, the activities and events holded for pleasing gods to prevent natural disasters. Traditions, nowadays, are more symbolic than have practical influence to the majority of societies. People kept the traditional ceremonies as a reminder of their ancestors instead. For example, some minor ethnic groups in Taiwan keep the tradition of throwing a celebration for harvest seasons despite that not many of them are farming. To conclude, it is inevitable that traditions are crucial for maintaining distinction between societies, however, those traditions should not cause restrictions for the world making progress. In my perspective, traditions should take the place as a reminder of the past with no practical influence on modern societies.