In some countries, it is illegal for companies to reject job applicants for their age. Is this a positive or negative development?

In contemporary societies, rejecting job applicants because of their age is illegal in some nations. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of this trend. On the one hand, there are several positive aspects of this problem. On top of that, it is likely to foster the firm’s goals, especially the seniors. In specific, it is apparent that people’s quality of health has a tendency to reduce after the age of 55. As a result, workers who are over 55 years old could not make sure the performance of businesses, or even decrease significantly the number of products and services in manufacturing processes. In some developing countries, ranging from Vietnam to Laos, for example. Employees of any company, not only males but also women aged 55 to 60 are retired according to Vietnam’s labour policy. On the other hand, a ton of drawbacks when the governments do not allow employers to recruit someone due to their age. First and foremost, the poor need to make money for costs living. Although they would be a youngster or elder people, they have a challenging background, so they have to work for expenditures, including bills, food, health services, entertainment and education. Besides, some youngsters just want to work at lower ages because of its amusement and only for fun. Indeed, they want to hire a job to spend their time and do not really care for their earnings. For instance, university students require a part-time job frequently to explore novel something and gain many valuable life lessons from their occupation. In conclusion, policymakers introduce rules relating to the age of employees which has both advantages and disadvantages because they rely on setting organizational goals and residents’ needs.