Traffic congestion is becoming increasingly problematic in major cities. What solutions can you suggest to help solve this problem?

Major cities throughout the world are beset by a similar problem, massive traffic congestion. From Washington DC to Paris, key cities in both developed and developing countries place great importance on the reduction of congested roads. This essay proposes feasible solutions that can serve as a means of tackling traffic jams. The most effective measure has to do with public transport. In many parts of the world, this is inconvenient or too expensive for people on a limited budget, which means many people still prefer to drive their own cars rather than commute by bus, train or underground. Reducing the cost of public transportation and making it a convenient form of transport, for example by ensuring that buses link to key stations and run late enough each day, will entice people back onto public transport systems. Given that buses and trains carry a large number of people in a limited space, unlike private vehicles, the dominance of public transport over automobiles can combat congestion. Another way to prompt people to leave their cars at home is by increasing taxes on driving. Charging high taxes on parking and petrol would not only deter individuals from taking private vehicles but also bring in revenue to improve the road infrastructure, fund cycling paths, and establish better underground railway systems, thus promoting road safety and reducing traffic congestion. However, before making travel by car difficult, it is important to offer an integrated public transport system that enables people to travel as conveniently and safely as they do by car. As soon as the government provides citizens with a high-quality public transport system and imposes heavy taxes on driving, it will become possible to deal with the increasing problems associated with traffic.