Some people think that having a set retirement age (e.g. 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age. Do you agree or disagree? Which types of workers do you think should benefit from early retirement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Currently, almost all governments around the world set a fixed retirement age for everyone in every profession, usually about 65 years. It is argued that this is unfair when some employees want to have an early retirement. Due to the different requirements of each occupation, I totally believe that we should have more options in choosing when we want to retire. First of all, there should be an earlier retirement age for physical labor jobs. With this type of work, people usually suffer with negative health effects due to the work environment which takes a toll on their ability to continue working. As in the case of people who come down with an illness and they are forced to retire before the required age, then they may not be eligible to receive a pension. Even if we do not consider the previous scenario, we still should respect someone’s wish to retire early. Especially, when they had proven their consideration into the matter. Moreover, the government should allow for later retirement for a white-collar occupation. In particular, teachers or college professors are all professions that require years of experience which make their age an asset rather than a liability. Many are still very healthy even in their seventies and beyond which allow them to keep working well after the retirement ages. With this fact, we should let people share their expertise by increasing the retirement age for these jobs. All in all, we can see that different professionals will have different views on their time for retirement. The government should take this into account and create a more flexible approach that allows for the more physically demanding jobs to have their post-work year start at a younger age and, on the contrary, for the intellectuals to continue working later in life.