In many countries, smoking is now illegal in public places. Many people believe that such a ban is justified. Do you agree or disagree?

In a large number of nations, it is not allowed to smoke in public areas anymore, and many argue that this is a reasonable measure. This essay agrees with the statement because prohibiting smoking in common spaces improves non-smokers´ health condition and helps those who smoke to give up the addiction. Considering firstly the benefits for non-smokers, banning smoking in public places will be beneficial for the health of those who do not smoke. It has been shown that when they share the same place with someone who is smoking, the smoke they inhale through passive smoke is highly harmful because they inhale noxious particles which their body is not used to. Therefore, it can ultimately lead to respiratory diseases and cancer. For instance, since Portugal introduced this rule 15 years ago, lung cancer rates plummeted in the country. Another advantage of this solution is that active smokers would reduce the number of cigarettes they smoke because there are not many places left for that activity. As a result, they might either smoke only a few cigarettes on a regular basis or they would actually give up. This is equally beneficial for their health, as aforementioned, by reducing the number of mouth and lung cancer. For example, when this law was implemented in the UK, the amount of smokers has been dropping since then. In conclusion, I am a vehement supporter that the recent ban on smoking in common areas implemented in some countries is justified because it can help non-smokers to keep their healthy lung shape by avoiding contact with second-hand smoke, and also helps smokers to give up.