Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects at university in many countries. Why is this? What effects does this have on society?

It is true that over the last ten years, there has been a tendency amongst students to study non-science subjects at universities for their careers, this essay will discuss why this is happening and what could be the consequences of this trend on societies. A likely reason why this might be the case is simply that subjects like chemistry and biology are much harder to major in than other fields, it usually takes a lot of effort and time to get a degree in these subjects, students are required to do their own research and also have much more homework in comparison to their colleagues in other majors. Students are aware of this and as a result, they opt to study other majors like the economy, because it's easier and not time-consuming, and upon graduation, they don't have to worry about unemployment, because these fields are demanded by big companies. This; however, will have some bad effects on societies in the near future, simply because those subjects are important, for instance, in the medication field, each year, the number of patients being cured and lives being saved is increasing due to breakthroughs in science, and if there is not enough number of graduates in these fields, those numbers are going to decline in the future. Moreover, laboratories and such institutions will soon have a lack of labour, and those are vital in societies because they are important to the health care system, and each year individuals pay an amount of their income to insurance in order to be treated there if it's the case and if there are not enough workers there, those institutions are going to be closed and this will have a negative impact on society. To conclude, there are various reasons why students opt to not study science subjects, and this may have bad consequences for societies.