Nowadays, the use of alternative renewable sources of energy (e.g. wind, water, solar) is becoming popular in many parts of the world. Why is this happening? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Increasing numbers of countries apply renewable energy, including wind, water, and solar power, as alternative resources for power generation. In my opinion, growing awareness of environmental problems and shortages of fossil fuels are the primary causes of this change. I believe the benefits of this transition of energy usage are greater than the drawbacks in terms of the safety of human life and sustainability. The main cause of the increase in renewables is enhancing concern about environmental damage, especially on climate. A number of countries agreed with the idea of conserving present natural resources and taking actions to keep the rise of global temperature below 1.5 degrees in the Paris agreement. This agreement has motivated many governments to establish funds to encourage companies and individuals to select renewable energy. Another reason is running out of fossil fuels, which is considered to last for only a few decades. Modern lifestyle consumes a huge amount of energy for advanced technologies, such as automobiles and computers, without which people can not live. This urgent need to continue to use these devices also enhances motivation to adapt to new energy. I consider this development can bring enormous advantages to society. One notable point is that it can be a solution for climate change, which reduces the risk of disasters. Some countries are facing serious weather, such as floods, that cause significant damage by destroying buildings and depriving human lives. A declining concern about harsh climate also contributes to mental safety. Moreover, this use of alternative energy can make human life sustainable. Since there is no limit to obtaining energy from renewable sources, the use of electrical items does not need to be regulated, and people can enjoy innovation in technology in the future. In conclusion, the reasons for the growing popularity of renewable energy are worries about the deteriorating environment and the shrinking storage of traditional fuels. I’m convinced that this change is a positive step towards a safe and sustainable society.