The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

The issue of obesity in western children has turned into a significant topic in this century. In this way, most of the young people in the society are suffering from the chubbiness and many types of diseases that are related to their lifestyles and non-activity. The following essay will explore two major causes of this significant issue and three effects derived directly from it. Perhaps, the main cause of being overweight in children is related to non-activity in this century. In addition, there is a growing tendency among young people to use computer games and online games in the context of virtual space. To put it simply, most of the children are accessing the Internet and they are spending much more time on cyberspace for online games with other peers without any types of physical activities. Furthermore, according to a prevailing view, the World Wide Web and online games have a significant role in younger communities. More importantly, according to the latest figures released by WHO, the rate of eating fast food among teenagers is sharply increasing which leads to a large number of health problems. Turning to the possible effects, no one can ever deny the negative influence/impact of excessive consumption of fast food among the youths. Accordingly, consuming convenience food will in turn result in a large number of health issues, for instance, obesity, blood pressure and so on and so forth. In addition, that type of health problem can entail mental disorders which are the impacts of inactivity and antisocial behavior. Furthermore, spending more time on virtual space and online games causes many types of issues such as loneliness and depression. In conclusion, the causes of overweight in children generally relate to the inactivity and excessive consumption of fast food, while the effects are seen in many types of health issues such as obesity in the children's community.