Schools should not force children to learn a foreign language. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

These days, many people argue that pupils should not be forced to learn another language at school. I totally support that idea, for the reasons I will outline below. It may bring many benefits if children are encouraged to learn a second language during their school years. The first reason is that learning a foreign language can broaden their horizon when the students know a new language, they can get a better understanding of the culture whose language they learn. That is why some researchers find that studying a new language can make people smarter and improve their memories a lot. Besides, almost knowledge of human beings is written in international languages, especially English. Therefore, by learning another language students can understand more about scientific achievements and the world’s developments. On the other hand, schools should encourage students to learn a foreign language instead of forcing them. Firstly, pupils can not learn effectively under pressure. For instance, it is easily seen that there are many children whose parents oblige them to learn a lot and this causes severe stress and anxiety in offspring. Thus, they can not study better. Secondly, teachers should motivate students and give them detailed explanations of what they learn a foreign language for. Knowing the reasons and necessity why they need to learn a new language can help them to put their effort into studying and can instil in them the value of learning. In conclusion, although learning a foreign language is necessary, schools should not force children to learn it, they only ought to encourage them to do that.