In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Companies use the word 'new' to highlight products in their advertisement these days. There is a reason why they do this and I will give my reasons below. I would say that it is a positive development. To begin with, the key point that businesses promote their product is newly upgraded is because it is the best way to attract not only current customers, but also potential ones. The current customers want to know the features of new products since they already have positive images of the brand's products as well as they believe the quality from their long-term experiences. Therefore, they are more likely to buy it when the company release upgraded version. As for the potential buyers, the brand appeals to them that their products are made with the latest technology by using a simple word 'new'. It makes future customers think 'let's give it a try.' After purchasing them, regardless of customer experiences were positive or negative, the brand name and image will be remembered in their mind. Thus, by putting an underline on the newness of products, business owners can promote their assets. With all the reasons that I mentioned above, I think this is a positive development. First of all, consumers have more options in the market. They can compare a range of different products to make the most reasonable choice. Furthermore, the given strategy is helpful for rising brand awareness. When a company advertise their new product, the audience receive the information about a new brand. This leads people to remember the brand more easily. In conclusion, emphasising the newness of products by businesses is beneficial to attract all customers. Also, it offers a wide range of selection to consumers and increases brand awareness among them at the same time.