because of the global economy, many goods including what we use as daily basics produced by other countires have to be trasported for a long distance. To what extent do the advatages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is undeniable that the modern economy has been influencing many countries worldwide in terms of importing some essential goods for a long distance. This essay will first discuss both views before elaborating on my perspective. On the one hand, importing a vast amount of merchandises abroad is considered highly costly for some reasons. As it requires a variety of sophisticated logistic systems and skillful manpower, which means that there will be added taxes or charged service. To put it simply, members of society are required to pay for extra cost for their vital stuffs. Secondly, if certain nations rely too much on other countires' production, it will result in adverse effects on other domestic business sectors. For example, in Thailand, a wide range of fruits and vegetations which are imported to Thai markets has been detrimental to small local retailers for several years because tons of Chinese vegetables are considerably cheaper than native ones. On the other hand, imported foreign daily basics are sometimes essential to particular countries when it comes to insufficient supply or incapability to generate. To explain this further, a myriad of nations become more dependant on the others since they have limited sources of main ingredients or components, which leads to a sheer amount of imports each years. For instance, Singapore is constantly in need of neighboring lands' merchandises, such as drinking water, meat, spices and many more. Therefore, in case of enough supplies, one practical solution is to purchase exotic products from other regions. In conclusion, although importing goods from overseas is believed to be excessively expensive, in some areas where they are not able to produce their own daily basics should allocate their money on imported things. I am of opinion that it is worth spending on items or foods that we cannot produce domestically, moreover, it will pave the way people live a better standard of living.