Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

In the last years, traffic congestion increased really fast within big towns due to the rise of car's popularity. I believe that this statement is true and this essay will give evidence of my belief and will also propose some ideas to cope with this issue. In recent times, the need of independence pushed more and more people to buy their own car. In fact, a current survey conducted by the University of Milan shows that in 2023 in Italy one person out of 3 owns its own veichle and consequently traffic grew in a significant way. Regardless from the statistics, the grow of cars number is a phenomenon that we can witness in our daily life just by taking a walk in a big city. As regards my personal experience, I can firmly state that lately moving within my town, Turin, has never been taugher taught. Once going to the center used to take 10 minutes by walking from my house. Instead, now it requires at least 20 minutes more thanks to the intense traffic that obligates you to wait a lot of time the traffic lights to finally become green. Moreover, roads congestion has planty of other dangerous consequences such as air pollution and increased risk of accidents. The terrible drawbacks I previously mentioned represent a huge problem that should be addressed by politicians. There are tons of ways in which governments could try to face this trouble. For instance, they could introduce a speed limit in certain urban areas so that people are discouraged to drive close to the town center. Plus, in this way traffic is more controlled. Furthermore, in order to reduce the usage of cars, public means of transport such as the bus and the metro should be improved. To sum up, it is undeniable that cties congestion is rising. This affair regards every single citizen who drives a veichle, however I think that State's authorities have the duty to deal with it by implementing laws in order to prevent this unpleasant situation.